top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarian Kanno

Playlist a Life: Lady Macbeth


In My Head - Ariana Grande

"Falling, falling, but I thought that you would need me

Falling, falling, needed something to believe in, oh

I thought that you were the one

But it was all in my head

It was all in my head"

In my head signifies the internal struggles of Lady Macbeth as she deals with the blood on her hands. We see that she falls apart mentally, and she meets her demise through suicide. This shows just how much time she must have spent in her head. Just as the blood on her hands in the “Out damned spot!” scene was imaginary, everything after was just in her head. I noticed that towards the end she made herself very scarce. My guess is that she shut herself up in her room so she wouldn’t have to face the world. There’s a feeling people get when they have something to hide, like people can see right through their physical body and into their mind. I’m guessing that’s why, but I don’t really know for sure. Her paranoia is so deeply ingrained and it’s clear that she goes mentally insane. Her sleepwalking and insomnia doesn’t help anything.


Listen Before I Go - Billie Eilish

"Sorry can't save me now

Sorry I don't know how

Sorry there's no way out (sorry)

But down,

Hmm, down"

This relates very closely to Lady Macbeth. No one could understand the severity of her mental illness. The doctors knew, but there was nothing they could do to help her. The lyrics say “Sorry can’t save me now, Sorry I don’t know how” this is like her saying that nothing and no one could pull her out of her downward spiral.


Caught in the Fire - Bazzi

"We're caught in the fire

And it burns right through the bones

We're down to the wire

No it won't leave us alone

Oh it haunts our days

And the fear won't fade

Feeling swallowed by the smoke"

This song refers to the greed and ambition in Lady Macbeth’s heart and the repercussions of her actions. The thought of the blood on her hands drove her mad to the point of insanity. If you really think about it, her greed is what caused her death. The consequences of her actions were severe and she couldn’t deal with it. Her guilt wore her down to her core and “burns right through the bones”.


My Blood - Ellie Goulding

“That feeling that doesn’t go away just did

And I walked a thousand miles to prove it

And I’m caught in the crossfire of my own thoughts

The color of my blood is all I see on the rocks”

I related this song Lady Macbeth from her “unsex me here” soliloquy, to her taking her own life. The first two lines can be related to her soliloquy because she didn’t want to feel like a woman, she wanted to be manly, and she accomplished that. But once that feeling that she was untouchable went away, she started to second guess her actions bringing us to “I’m caught in the crossfire of my own thoughts” because she was stuck in her head. She began to wage a war against herself, the cost of this war being her mental stability and eventually her life. Then she pitched herself off a building leaving us with “The color of my blood is all I see on the rocks”. This song also relates to Lady Macbeth because of the title. Blood is a common reference in this book from, “make thick my blood and fill me from crown to toe top-full of direst cruelty” to “blood will have blood”.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • White SoundCloud Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

© 2023 by DAILY ROUTINES. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page